Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

City Departments

Board of Adjustments

​The Board of Adjustments is a branch of the City Planning and Zoning Commission.  Zoning variance requests are addressed by this board.  They meet on an as needed basis. 

Conditional use public hearings shall be conducted in accordance with KRS 100.237 section 6 and all other sections applicable.

Public hearings shall be in accordance with State of Kentucky open meeting laws.  All proper notification shall be sent to all concerned parties by certified mail and property owners are who are listed in the Property Evaluation Administrators records.

Appeals to the Board may be taken by any person, or entity claiming to be injuriously affected or aggrieved by an official action or decision of any Zoning Enforcement Officer.  Such appeal shall be taken within thirty (30) days after the appellant or his agent receives notice of the action appealed from, by filing with said officer and with the board a notice of appeal specifying the grounds thereof, and giving notice of such appeal to any and all parties of record.  Said officer shall forthwith transmit to the board all papers constituting the record upon which the action appealed from was taken and shall be treated as and be the respondent in such further proceedings.  At any hearing by the board any interested person may appear and enter his appearance, and shall be given an opportunity to be heard.

The Board of Adjustment shall have the power to hear and decide cases where it is alleged by an applicant that there is error in an order, requirement, decision, grant, or refusal made by an administrative official in the enforcement of the zoning regulation.  Such an appeal shall be taken within thirty (30) days. (BOA Bylaws 06/30/99)

The Board of Adjustments shall consist of either three (3), five (5) or seven (7) members who serve four (4) year terms.  Two (2) of whom may be citizen members of the planning commission. The Mayor is the appointing authority for cities subject to the approval of their legislative bodies. 

This board meets as needed.  

Board Members:

  • Ward Hart, Chairman
  • Rachel Correll
  • Danny Lynn
  • Brenda Bertram
  • Bob Swett​